SWITZERLAND IN THE ARCTIC

Want to work in Canada?
5 October 2021

SWITZERLAND IN THE ARCTIC

 

Every year the Arctic ice-cap loses an area the size of Austria. This is opening new commercial routes and arousing the appetite of major economic powers. In 2017, Switzerland became a member of the Arctic Council with observer status. Today Switzerland is being affected by global warming more than other countries. Since it ratified the Paris climate agreement and signed up to the sustainable development goals, it is its responsibility to follow what is happening in the Arctic. It has years of experience and a long tradition in the exploration of the cryosphere.

Switzerland can act at various levels with respect to the Arctic. Given its expertise in Alpine and glacial environments, it can promote the creation of a new working group centred on sustainable development of infrastructure. It can also provide its good offices facilitating peaceful resolution of conflicts and encouraging dialogue between governments, experts and civil society. Geneva as the international cooperation centre could organise meetings to have constructive dialogue on native populations, preserving cultural heritage and resource management.
Finally, in the area of scientific diplomacy, the Swiss government could promote a common declaration on the impact of climate change in the Arctic.

That said, it needs to be emphasised that Switzerland is still in the process of “discovering” the Arctic. The goal of this vision is to bring about discussions in the mid-to long-term and make the players more aware of the different options available.

READ ARTICLE HERE.

La Suisse dans l’Arctique

Envie de vivre et travailler au Canada ?
5 octobre 2021

La Suisse dans l’Arctique

Chaque année, la calotte glaciaire arctique perd une superficie équivalente à celle de l’Autriche. Cela ouvre de nouvelles routes commerciales et suscite l’appétit des grandes puissances économiques. En 2017, la Suisse est devenue membre du Conseil de l’Arctique avec un statut d’observateur. Aujourd’hui, la Suisse est touchée par le réchauffement climatique plus que d’autres pays. Depuis qu’elle a ratifié l’accord de Paris sur le climat et signé les objectifs de développement durable, il est de sa responsabilité de suivre ce qui se passe dans l’Arctique. Elle a des années d’expérience et une longue tradition dans l’exploration de la cryosphère.

La Suisse peut agir à différents niveaux en ce qui concerne l’Arctique. Compte tenu de son expertise dans les environnements alpins et glaciaires, elle peut promouvoir la création d’un nouveau groupe de travail centré sur le développement durable des infrastructures. Elle peut également proposer ses bons offices pour faciliter la résolution pacifique des conflits et encourager le dialogue entre les gouvernements, les experts et la société civile. Genève, en tant que centre de coopération internationale, pourrait organiser des réunions pour avoir un dialogue constructif sur les populations autochtones, la préservation du patrimoine culturel et la gestion des ressources.
Enfin, dans le domaine de la diplomatie scientifique, le gouvernement suisse pourrait promouvoir une déclaration commune sur l’impact du changement climatique dans l’Arctique.

Cela dit, il convient de souligner que la Suisse est encore en train de « découvrir » l’Arctique. L’objectif de cette vision est de susciter des discussions à moyen et long terme et de sensibiliser les acteurs aux différentes options disponibles.

LIRE ARTICLE ICI.